#IntoTheDeep #News

2 min read

INTO THE DEEP Announce New Album Blackfin and Reveal Title Track

INTO THE DEEP are preparing to launch their new album Blackfin on January 3rd, 2024. The dive metal outfit unleash waves of fierce riffs, deafening bass and roaring vocals through their powerful and thought-provoking offering.

Entwined in metaphors and oceanic imagery, Blackfin traverses different watery plains in a commentary on the personal and political trials in our modern life. Opening with the title track “Blackfin”, this thundering track questions the standards and rituals of daily life as a human which now often revolve around social media. “Spaceshark” blasts off into a thrilling fantastical narrative, accompanied with a plethora of riffs. “Spaceshark” follows a shark that was experimented on by NASA in space. Having mutated due to solar radiation, it is now the ruler of a small planet that is covered in sulfuric lakes. Returning to Earth, “Hammerhead” delivers a powerful message highlighting the exploitation of the oceans and the shark fin trade that is currently decimating the food chain. The dark mood, fast-pace and intensity depict the bleak and barbaric actions of humans for the sake of monetary gain. 

Track Listing: 
1. Blackfin  
2. Sandblasted
3. Seaweed  
4. Spaceshark
5. Nothing
6. Hammerhead

Based out of Raleigh, NC, the band are influenced musically from the worlds of punk, metal and rock, but also venture further afield into surf rock, reggae and synth-wave. Thematically the band are drawn to taking inspiration from ocean ecology and conservation, oceanic wildlife, waves, and nautical craft. INTO THE DEEP emerged in 2018 from the members’ previous band PIVOT, formed in 1999, as a new outlet was needed for heavier riffs not befitting PIVOT’s sound. 

Michael Hambright – main vocals, guitar, bass
Eric Hambright – lead guitar, vocals 
Phil Cicco – drums, vocals


**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre.**