#Lacrau #News #Stream

2 min read

MONUMENTAL REX reveals the second track from the upcoming LACRAU album

Monumental Rex reveals the brand new track “Queda” from the upcoming Lacrau full-length album Axioma, set to release on September 22nd, on CD digipack format.

Formed in the mountainous region of Serra da Estrela, Portugal, Lacrau introduces Axioma – a conceptual work that combines Depressive, Black and Doom Metal elements to tell a story inspired by the legendary Scandinavian senicide ritual. It is told that the practice consisted in elderly people throwing themselves, or being thrown, from precipices after becoming unable to take care of themselves or perform everyday tasks. Written in Portuguese, the lyrical narrative describes the ritual from different angles: the realization of the burden, the journey to the cliff, the induced feelings and the acceptance of the fate.

Axioma unfolds during six tracks totaling 38 minutes. The opening track sets the tense mood for the gloomy tale. The next four chapters immerse the listener into the storyline by means of aggressive, melancholic and melodic riffage, harsh extreme vocals, dynamic and punchy drums, and an overall dense and crisp sonority. The closing piece establishes the aftermath ambience of the rite of passage. Thus, all tracks create a continuous soundscape that seamlessly represents the ebb and flow of the narrated events.

Featuring members from Carma and Everto Signum, Lacrau recorded and produced Axioma independently. Abstract and symbolic illustrations, hand-drawn by Lacrau, complement the story, while the design and layouting tasks were carried out by Infected Minds.Keep exploring Axioma with two tracks revealed to date – “Queda” and “Declínio” – both available at Monumental Rex’s YouTube channel, as well as on Bandcamp where the album and merch preorders are active.

1. Premissa
2. Doença
3. Declínio
4. Queda
5. Veneno
6. Conclusão


Monumental Rex

**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre.**

(Visited 39 times, 1 visits today)