#Lacolpa #News

3 min read

LACOLPA: Italian blackened doom/noise entity release new single “The Last Amethyst Deceiver”

“The Last Amethyst Deceiver” is the new release by Blackened Doom/Noise band LACOLPA.

The single is a stream of consciousness type of reinterpretation of a song originally written and performed by Coil, brought to light by sessions of cathartic improvisations.

After the debut album “Mea Maxima Culpa” from 2017, and “Post Tenebras Lux” from 2020, both of which were released to critical acclaim and ended up being featured in many album of the year charts by the likes of Cvlt Nation and The Wire Magazine amongst many others, LACOLPA are back with a new single.

This release constitutes the first chapter of a trilogy of digital releases leading up to LACOLPA‘s much anticipated third album scheduled for early 2024.

The monstrously heavy and sludgier parts that are one of LACOLPA’s trademarks here give way to something even more eerie and painful, creating soundscapes of improvisational noise and ambient drone that still manage to retain all the monolithically dark and ominous atmospheres typical of the band since its inception in 2015.

More than a simple cover version of a track by Coil, with “The Last Amethyst Deceiver” LACOLPA really wish to pay homage to one of the most innovative bands ever, revealing how Coil have always been a source of inspiration for them.

Decoding and reinterpreting one of Coil’s last great sonic manifestation, LACOLPA have created something vast and meditative, capturing and expanding upon the looming, unmistakable sense of impending loss that was typical of the magical music created by Balance, Christopherson and Co.

FFO: Coil, Throbbing Gristle, Thaw.

LACOLPA is a blackened doom/noise band from Alessandria (Italy) that experiments different stratifications of sonic nightmares.

Active since 2015, they have released 2 demos and 2 full length albums.

Both “Mea Maxima Culpa” (2017) and “Post Tenebras Lux” (2020) were released to critical acclaim and ended up being featured in many album of the year charts by the likes of Cvlt Nation and The Wire Magazine amongst many others.

Their sound is monolithically dark and ominous, a distinctive trademark merging doom and noise that has become heavier and sludgier with every release, all the while experimenting with some of the most painful soundscapes of improvisational noise and drone metal.

Thematically, their lyrics outlines LACOLPA’s philosophy of pain, deeply rooted in the human condition of eternal suffering.
Agony is the only hope for transcendence, and yet here faith is worth nothing, because crosses are invisible and only pain is real.

Accepting defeat, embracing pain, becoming a martyr won’t lead to any illumination – but to the realisation that our existence is only an error, a mistake, a sin performed by God himself in the act of projecting an image of his real self upon us.


Andrea Moio: bass
Cecco Testa: synth, noise, samples
Davide Boeri: drums
Davide Destro: guitars, Synth/Effects/Moog Mario Olivieri: vocals


Brucia Records
Official Website

**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre.**