#ElderDevil #Sreaming

3 min read

ELDER DEVIL Share New Single And Music Video, “My Body Is An Earthen Shrine”

Fresno, CA’s ELDER DEVIL have today shared a new single, titled “My Body Is An Earthen Shrine”, alongside an accompanying music video directed by vocalist Stephen Muir. “My Body Is An Earthen Shrine” is the second track to be taken from the grind group’s forthcoming sophomore album, Everything Worth Loving, which is set for release via Prosthetic Records on June 16..


Stream My Body Is An Earthen Shrine 
via Apple Music | TIDAL | Deezer | Bandcamp and Spotify
Pre-order Everything Worth Loving here.

Speaking on the single release, ELDER DEVIL’s Stephen Muir comments: “My Body Is An Earthen Shrine serves as a spiritual sequel to album track After Flesh and its story of obsession, nature, and transcendence. It is a reminder that devotion may not bring the rewards you are seeking.”

Founded in 2016 by primary songwriter Jacob Lee (Hellish Form, Keeper, PlasticBag FaceMask) and vocalist Stephen Muir, ELDER DEVIL’s mission statement of crafting coruscating grindcore and apoplectic sludge for the love of extreme music, and the scene they were birthed from, has remained unwavering in its execution. With a handful of EPs and 2019 full-length, The Light Dimmed Eternal, ELDER DEVIL’s latest chapter is an uneasy rumination on grief.

Upon completing writing for the musical components of Everything Worth Loving in January 2021, Muir took meticulous care in penning the lyrics to their sophomore’s 13 tracks. With the passing of his mother at the forefront of his mind, Everything Worth Loving is tinged with personal loss and a sense of displacement. Melding the insular and universal aspects of such grief is exemplified on the title track’s ponderance of love itself, as Muir questions, “Why do we love and why does that love leave?”. ELDER DEVIL’s answers for such questions are not easily stomached, but beneath the surface of their harsh noise lies a comfort within the cacophony.

With Lee once again taking on production duties, ELDER DEVIL commenced recording and mixing sessions between April and May of 2022 before handing over mastering duties to Jacob Plotkin (Cave In, Old Man Gloom, Street Sects and many more). The resulting 13 tracks possess a fervently raw side to the band, capturing ELDER DEVIL’s live explosiveness and grit in equal measure.

The striking black and white cover art for Everything Worth Loving was commissioned from Richmond, VA artist Derek R. Setzer, embodying the restless disquiet of ELDER DEVIL’s latest work. For all of the harsh truths and loss that permeates Everything Worth Loving, ELDER DEVIL’s second long player sees the quartet stand tall on, and come into, their own in uncompromisingly dark fashion.

Everything Worth Loving tracklist:

  1. Endless Need
  2. The Hounds at Night
  3. Awash in Light
  4. My Body is an Earthen Shrine
  5. New Grief
  6. Insomnia
  7. What Do You See?
  8. After Flesh
  9. Puncture Wound
  10. Burning Forest
  11. What Do You Hear? 
  12. Dismal and Alone
  13. Everything Worth Loving


Stephen Muir – vocals
Jacob Lee – guitar
Peter Ruacho – drums and noise
Ryan Urquidez – bass

|| Elder Devil ||
|| Facebook || Bandcamp || Instagram || YouTube || Twitter || Spotify ||

**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre**

(Visited 60 times, 1 visits today)