Altar of Patrons #19

2 min read

Band: Sylvatica
Title: Ashes and Snow
Release date: 20 April 2021
Country: Denmark

What a great month this April has been for new releases, that came up in an incredible variety. So again, it wasn’t easy to pick only one album for my monthly BAZ shout-out, but here we go with a worthy contender that shouldn’t be missed if you like your metal without genre boundaries: SYLVATICA is a band from Denmark, was formed in 2009, and released their debut “Evil Seeds” in 2014. The second album “Ashes and Snow” is out since April 20th, 2021 and offers melodic, catchy epicness, mixed with lots of shredding and a good pinch of Viking madness (for which I have a soft spot honestly ).

Lyrically, SYLVATICA create an image of the fragile nature of our civilization and meddle in apocalyptic themes, misanthropy, and cosmology, which can already be seen in the detailed cover artwork. Take a moment to dive into the pictured scenery, the intro “Daybreak” will do the rest to bring you there. But don’t let your senses fool you by the lovely harp or piano chords… the rest of the album is set to blow your mind.

Musically speaking, “Ashes and Snow” is an incredible melting pot: throw in the darkness of death metal with its punchy rhythmic and powerful growls, add the guitar virtuosity of progressive power- and the orchestration of symphonic metal, and you’ll get the epic foundation for the six songs. Then stir in a bit of folk here and there, as well as the one or other sing-along refrain. Since all these ingredients are blended with great song-writing and amazing musicianship, the impressive result is a real listening pleasure. My favorite songs are the title track and “Creation”, as well as the great finale “Halls of Extinction”.

What are you waiting for? Crank it up, and have a blast \m/

Video “Ashes and Snow”

Band Links

Track List
1. Daybreak
2. Ashes And Snow
3. Pillars Of Light
4. Creation
5. Cosmic Strings
6. Helios
7. Halls Of Extinction

Jardén Schlesinger – lead guitar, vocals
Christian Christiansen – guitar
Jacques Harm Brandt Hauge – drums
Thomas Rysgaard Haxen – bass, backing vocals

**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre.**

(Visited 164 times, 1 visits today)