#AtThePlates #News #Stream

2 min read

AT THE PLATES Release New Single “Punish My Waistline”

The song is taken from their upcoming album Omnivore, which will be released on January 5, 2024 on physical and digital formats. A deluxe edition, which contains two additional bonus tracks, will be available exclusively on Bandcamp.

AT THE PLATES comments:

“‘Punish My Waistline’ tells the story of our unlucky protagonist who suffers from sudden and uncontrollable weight gain. It’s something many of us can relate to; how overly self-conscious we can be about ourselves and our bodies, not to mention the frustration that comes along with trying to lose weight. It can feel like an uphill battle where you take one step forward and two steps back.”

Take a generous helping of Gothenburg’s 1990’s death metal, add two cups of Floridian death metal, one and a half tablespoons of New York death metal, and finally a teaspoon or two of dissonant black metal popularized by DEATHSPELL OMEGA. Stir together, set in the oven at 666 degrees for 20 minutes, and voila! You’ve got yourself an idea of what to expect when listening to AT THE PLATES. The upcoming full length Omnivore takes a slightly more serious approach from the band’s previous releases. The central theme of the album is ‘you are what you eat’ while still retaining their brutal sound and delivering light-hearted lyrics. 

AT THE PLATES was founded by Tony Rouse in 2018 with one goal in mind: to combine his love of good food with his love of great death metal. While originally an instrumental project with the release of the Garden Salads of Grief EP in 2018, AT THE PLATES began incorporating lyrics and themes into the music, culminating with the release of their full-length debut, Starch Enemy, in 2020. Starch Enemy was well received and featured on Bandcamp’s official website – Bandcamp Daily. Now, AT THE PLATES has returned from the culinary depths with a brand new line up to deliver its next course…Omnivore: a tour de force of cuisine-based tales set to the backdrop of blistering death metal. Whether you’ve got a craving for death metal or just a nice plate of grub, AT THE PLATES has you covered.

Tony Rouse – Guitar, Drums, Bass
Tyler McCarthy – Lead Guitar
Mario Alejandro – Vocals

Written and recorded by At the Plates
Mixed by Tony Rouse
Mastered by Tony Petrocelly
Artwork by Niklas Sundin

Track Listing:
With Their Cutlets
Kitchen Gone
Punish My Waistline
Terminal Filet Disease
Roastwell 47
Open Buffet Surgery
Incarnated Syrup Abuse
Into Everlasting Fryer
Northern Frites


**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre.**