#Owdwyr #News #Stream

2 min read

OWDWYR Debut Album “Receptor” out 20 October 2023

OWDWYR, an extreme metal convergence of Tech Death, Prog, and Grind framed around a Classical core, presents its debut album, Receptor.

Guitarist and composer Paul Plumeri, Jr. (ex-Isyou), joined by bassist Chris Williams (Dark Waters Fall) and vocalist Max Lichtman (ex-Immolith), founded OWDWYR in 2020.

Receptor offers 15 tracks that explore a spectrum of influences ranging from Car Bomb, Human Remains, and Fleshgod Apocalypse to J.S. Bach, Allan Holdsworth, and Heitor Villa-Lobos.

Receptor features appearances by some of the most skilled and crushing musicians in modern metal, including Navene Koperweis (Entheos, ex-Animals as Leaders), Kenny Grohowski (Imperial Triumphant, John Zorn), Kevin Paradis (Ne Obliviscaris, Benighted), Alex Cohen (Contrarian, ex-Pyrrhon), and many more. With blistering blastbeats, intricate harmonic counterpoint, and ferocious vocals, OWDWYR has crafted a dynamic musical experience that demands attention and never relents.

FFO: Fleshgod Apocalypse, Car Bomb, Human Remains, and early-Between the Buried and Me


Track Listing:

1. Praefatio
2. The Liminal Carapace
3. Ripped from The Bog
4. Stench of Indemnity
5. Lagos
6. Ein
7. Writhe
8. Supplicant
9. Reverie
10. Cower
11. A Vessel Emerges
12 Not Afraid
13. Pitchtongue Vesper
14. Catalyst Sequence
15. The Sputtering Torch

Unless noted otherwise (see below), all songs composed by Paul Plumeri with lyrics by Max Lichtman.

“Praefatio/The Liminal Carapace” – Adapted from “Fratres” written by Arvo Pärt. Arranged by Paul Plumeri.

“Reverie” – Bridge adapted from “Zone” written by Allan Holdsworth from the album All Night Wrong. Arranged by Paul Plumeri.

“Supplicant” – 2nd half adapted from “Daydreaming” written by Radiohead from the album Moon Shaped Pool. Arranged by Paul Plumeri.

“Pitchtongue Vesper” – Adapted from “Etude No. 12” written by Heitor Villa Lobos. Arranged by Paul Plumeri.

“The Sputtering Torch” – Adapted from “Torch” written by Brian Lawlor from the album The Incidental Purge. Arranged by Paul Plumeri

Mixed by AJ Viana at AJ Viana Productions.
Mastered by Alan Douches at West West Side Music.
Vocals recorded by Fox DeVaughn at Studio D.
Logo, album art, and layout by Garek Druss.

Band Members:
Paul Plumeri Jr. – Guitars, Composition, and Programming
Chris Williams – Bass 
Max Lichtman – Vocals and Lyrics

Additional Performances:
Kenny Grohowski – Drums on The Liminal Carapace, Lagos, Reverie, Supplicant, A Vessel Emerges, Pitchtongue Vesper
Navene Koperweis – Drums on Stench of Indemnity, Catalyst Sequence, Cower
Kevin Paradis – Drums on Ein, Not Afraid, The Sputtering Torch
Alex Cohen – Drums on Ripped from the Bog, Writhe, A Vessel Emerges
Frank Albanese – Additional vocals on Cower, A Vessel Emerges
Ed RosenBerg III – Saxophone on Lagos, Cower
Sydney Kjerstad – Piano on Ein


**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre.**

(Visited 96 times, 1 visits today)