ÆØNS debut album “The Rotten Unknown”

2 min read

Inspired by gloomy, sad and fantasy-fueled themes, the band paints an ominous soundscape
using modern elements such as massive, low-pitched guitars and dark shades of electronic

“The album has been in the works in one form or another for the last 2-3 years, during which
close to a hundred demo songs were written. When we finally felt that it was time to put
together one binding piece from all the material, we decided on the 13 best ones and started
the process to properly record and produce the album”, says the band’s guitarist and producer
Jörg-Erik Hanikat.

Lyrically, the listener is encouraged to engage in a philosophical dialogue with oneself,
dissecting topics such as existential burdens, social awareness, and human nature. “Often,
ÆØNS’s lyrical style is more open-ended and does not have a strictly laid out meaning to each
song, allowing the listener to make their own interpretation of the words and find a connection
that best translates to their own life experience,” says vocalist Iisak Pilli.

“When writing music and different parts, I try to bring in elements from other styles that are
not necessarily the first idea in metal that would come to mind,” says drummer Robert Leht.

“We are very excited to be able to present our first album and leave our mark in the Estonian
metal scene,” says Martin Randalu, the band’s second guitarist. “We are definitely not going to
slow down, as work on newer material has actually already started some time ago.”

The band will also be performing in this year’s Tallinn Music Week festival, which will take
place on October 1 at the Von Krahl Theater. Ticket information here


  1. Into the Rotten Unknown
  2. Loose Ends
  3. Deathwaves
  4. Ghost Helix
  5. Few And Far Between
  6. Worry Carries The Heavy Blade
  7. Sunless Seas
  8. Leviathan
  9. Visions
  10. Gray Sky
  11. Hollow Saint
  12. In Transience
  13. Conflux Eternal

Album artwork
Author: Erik Hallik

Vocals – Iisak Pilli
Drums – Robert Leht
Guitars – Martin Randalu
Guitars – Jörg-Erik Hanikat


**Please support the underground! It’s vital to the future of our genre**

(Visited 99 times, 1 visits today)